Book review

Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern book review

Love, RosieLove, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Genre: Chick Lit, Contemporary, Romance
Source: Purchased

Alex and Rosie are best friends. They have known each other since they were small and have a deep bond. Rosie is plucky and opinionated, while Alex is handsome and slightly brooding. They’ve always regarded each other as nothing more than friends until they start to think of each other romantically as teenagers.

And in the manner of all crappy timing, Alex’s family decides to make a transatlantic move to Boston. Rosie is left in Dublin, feeling despondent and heartbroken to be without Alex. There are lots of emails back and forth and she plans to move to the United States for college to be with Alex again. And then she finds out she’s pregnant. Baby Daddy is some douchey guy who leaves Rosie high and dry. (You saw that coming, right?) Rosie has to stay in Dublin to raise her child while Alex continues on with his life.

I wanted to love this book. I really did. And at first, it’s fun. It’s simple without being stupid. But as the years (and pages) pass, so did my patience.

The format of this novel is not traditional: it’s written in letters, emails, and instant message conversations. This format is fun at first, but about 300 pages in, it’s just laborious.

My biggest problem with it is that it’s annoying to hear about events second hand. Instead of being able to actually experience them with the characters, we’d hear about it later. I liked it about as much as I like those huge, black wasps that are so numerous in the South in the summertime. (Side story: A couple years ago, a small army of wasps built a nest in my car’s side mirror. I didn’t know it because if I had, I obviously would have poured lighter fluid over the entire car, threw a lit match on it, and ran away shrieking. Anyway. One day, I started driving with the windows down when huge black wasps started pouring out of my car’s side mirror. I screamed like a banshee and lucky for me, I am still alive today to type the story.)

Anyway. Sorry. Back to “Love, Rosie.” This is a book review, right? Well, it’s also my book review so I do what I want and all that.

Like I said, we’re told about all the important moments later, in summary. It’s just annoying. Like the first time Rosie and Alex kiss. Or when Rosie is planning on going to visit Alex and then all of sudden, we hear how she didn’t. Annoying. Just plain annoying.

With that in mind, I felt that this book was about 200 pages too long. And it really started to feel like I was reading through a person’s endless tech communications. The only person I might be interested in reading that many texts and emails from might be Dwight Shrute. Maybe.


I found Rosie’s texts/emails to be long-winded and self-centered. Again, I didn’t want to feel this way. I wanted to love her and this book.

This book wasn’t my cup of tea. Or cup of hot chocolate, if you will.

Leave a Reply

