Book review

Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer book review

Life As We Knew It (Last Survivors, #1)Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

My rating: 4 of 5 stars ★★★★
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian
Source: Purchased

Miranda and her family live in modern-day, rural Pennsylvania when the moon is pushed out of orbit. As the moon comes closer and closer to Earth, it sets off a disastrous cluster of natural disasters. Electricity, communication, and all other modern conveniences are cut off. Miranda, her mother, and her siblings try to live off their meager food supply and figure out how to stay comfortable when nothing is easy anymore. They are cold, they are hungry, and there is no end in sight.

I’m certainly not a scientist and I could tell that this book isn’t 100% scientifically accurate, but I didn’t care. I let my suspension of belief ride high because Miranda’s difficulties are difficult to read (in the best way). It felt like it could happen.

Maybe not the same natural disasters, but definitely the rationing of food and living every day with fear and death in a changed and very scary new world.

And Confession Time: I actually went to the grocery store while I was reading this book and bought a ton of canned food. Not enough to feed my family for long, but I was freaking out reading this book. Freaking out, I tell you.

Also, I think Pfeffer does well with Miranda’s voice. This is the diary of a 15-16 year old girl and it really feels like it. Not in a whiny or annoying way, but in an authentic way.

I really liked this book. If you want a reason to go to the store and buy 16764 cases of water bottles, read this book.

P.S. Another book that is similar to this one that I also recommend is One Second After.

Leave a Reply

