Bookish talk · Discussion · Personal thoughts

Why don’t I write reviews for books I love?

I started using Goodreads in earnest about two years ago. When I find a new book, I almost always scroll on down to the reviews. I find that I can get the “feeling” (and even summary) of a book so much better from my fellow readers.

I immediately noticed something when I started doing this. I’d often come across reviews by readers who looovvvedd the given book. They’d rave about it, encourage others to read it, tell us why it was so wonderful.

And I realized: very rarely write book reviews for the books I love. 

If I didn’t like a book, or simply liked it, writing a review is easy for me. I’m able to slap down my thoughts in no time. But if it’s a book I love, I just… won’t write about it.

Which is insane. 

I mean, if I love a book, of course I should share it. I want other readers to experience the magic that I did, right? Right?!

I think there are two reasons I do this:

When I finish a book I love, I want to linger in that world for awhile longer. I often won’t start another book or watch television that day. I just want to enjoy the place I just left. I want to feel all the feels, basically. I don’t want to worry about throwing my happily muddled thoughts into a review.

“All morning I struggled with the sensation of stray wisps of one world seeping through the cracks of another. Do you know the feeling when you start reading a new book before the membrane of the last one has had time to close behind you? You leave the previous book with ideas and themes — characters even — caught in the fibers of your clothes, and when you open the new book, they are still with you.”
― Diane Setterfield, The Thirteenth Tale

Also, when I love a book, I often feel like I can’t adequately put into words why I loved it so much. I feel like everything I could say would be trite. So if asked, I just kind of stammer, “Ugh, this book is so good. It’s amazing. Just… it’s just so good.”

So I’m going to work on that. Because in a galaxy far, far away, I’d love for people to care about my opinions about books. So I’d better tell you my opinions for all the books. Including the amazing ones.

I’ll link up here once I write my reviews for my favorite books, but for now, you can check out the list of my Book Recommendations. (Miraculously, I did write a review for The Book Thief , which is one of my favorites.)

 

Does anyone else have this problem? Is it easy for you to write reviews on your favorite books?

 

Also, I discovered the 2017 Book Blog Discussion Challenge hosted by Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight! It basically encourages discussion between book bloggers, which is always wonderful! I’ve signed up and I hope to have plenty of things to discuss with everyone. 🙂 I’d love to link up at least 11-20 discussion posts before 2017 is up!

2017-discussion-challenge3

18 thoughts on “Why don’t I write reviews for books I love?

  1. I have a very difficult time writing reviews for books I love. The words flow easily when I have something to critique; pointing out what didn’t work is easy. When I really liked something? I feel like a broken record saying “it was good.”

    Like

  2. I have to admit, I find it interesting that you don’t often write reviews for the books you love because, when I love a book, I want to shout it to the world and make every single person read my review lol. I mean, I think I handle them the same way I handle reviews for all books. I just make sure to talk about the specific reasons the book was so good and the specific things that I liked, just with more exclamation points and fangirling lol.

    Like

  3. First of all, welcome to the challenge—I’m excited to discuss with you!

    As for your post topic, I agree that sometimes writing reviews for the books we love can be harder than writing critical reviews. When I have issues with a book, I feel like I can easily talk about what those issues are and say why they bothered me. But the LOVE I have for a book is often so much more nebulous. I try to think about character, plot, pacing, etc and talk about each, but a lot of times I just want to gush. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m glad you understand! And those are all good ideas of things I will focus on in the future. Also, I feel like I need to re-read my favorites so that I can provide an updated opinion!

      Like

  4. Hi!
    I write reviews if a movie/book/service is bad. I think getting our voice out there is powerful. So, I guess I am in the same boat as you. I don’t really write reviews if its a good read. And yes, I usually like to live in the books world a little while after I am done with it. So true!
    PS- I am going to check out your recommended list. I need some good reads in my life PRONTO!!

    Like

    1. “That Summer” is one of my favorites and has been for a long time! This is the Goodreads summary, it explains it so much better than I think I could:

      “For fifteen-year-old Haven, life is changing too quickly. She’s nearly six feet tall, her father is getting remarried, and her sister—the always perfect Ashley—is planning a wedding of her own. Haven wishes things could just go back to the way they were. Then an old boyfriend of Ashley’s reenters the picture, and through him, Haven sees the past for what it really was, and comes to grips with the future.”

      And here’s the link to the book on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/104379.That_Summer

      See, this is why I really need to write reviews for the books I love!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I feel you SO MUCH with this! Because when I just straight up LOVE a book, I just love it- sometimes I can’t even explain why when I try. And I also think I don’t want to kind of… lessen my love by getting mad trying to review it unsuccessfully? Great post! Glad you are joining the challenge, too!! Welcome!! 😀

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you understand! And yes, you got that exactly right: “I don’t want to kind of… lessen my love by getting mad trying to review it unsuccessfully?.” Exactly! I need to do it, though, so that I don’t have a blog full of reviews of books I only kind of liked or didn’t like. haha

      And thanks for having me!

      Like

  6. As you can tell from the comments above, you are not the only one! I find it easier in a way to write reviews of books I am critical of, because most likely all along through the reading I’ve been bothered by various aspects that keep niggling at me, and pulling me out of the story to analyze them. If I love the book I basically just want to dive in and live in it, and I’m not doing that stepping back and analyzing. I can do it afterwards, to try to articulate WHY I love it, but it’s an extra effort.

    Like

Leave a Reply

