Book review

Reflection: The Stranger in the Mirror by Rachel R. Smith book review

Reflection: The Stranger in the Mirror by Rachel R. Smith book review

Reflection: The Stranger in the Mirror (Records of the Ohanzee #1)Reflection: The Stranger in the Mirror by Rachel R. Smith

My rating: 2 of 5 stars ★★
Genre: Fantasy, Romance
Source: Author, through Instagram

Nerissa is the heiress of the kingdom of Chiyo. Every year, her kingdom hosts a masked gala to celebrate a failed attack on their kingdom that occurred a few years ago. Nerissa plans to attend dressed as herself at the beginning of the night, then change dresses (and masks) and re-attend as a stranger in the crowd. Everything goes as planned until the night turns violent.

So this might be one of those “it’s not you, it’s me” situations. I have a hard time with the fantasy genre. Some fantasies have a way of surprising me, but in general, I get tired of reading them about halfway through. When this happens, all the historical fiction books on my shelves start calling to me in eerie siren voices. And I have to force myself to ignore them.

I mean, I like fantasies that are rooted in the real world (a la “Daughter of Smoke & Bone” or “The Bear and the Nightingale“). But elaborate, new worlds where crystals emit magic and swords have people-names is usually where I check out.

 

scully3
I also had a hard time with the (low-key keyboard-smash) names. There were a lot of characters, many with relatively similar names.

To watch [Jin] now, it was a bit hard to understand why Hania had chosen him. Compared to Haku, Hania, and Einar, he seemed impulsive, capricious, and even a slight bit childish. However, that playful, easygoing attitude belied a cunning and shockingly astute mind (160).

Reflection: The Stranger in the Mirror by Rachel R. Smith book review @ Chocolate and Chapters
About half way through, I gave up trying to keep them all sorted.

I wanted to love this book. I mean, look at the cover. It’s gorgeous. I can see how someone might enjoy it and be swept up in the adventure of the story. But when I have to force myself to keep reading a book and start skimming by the end, I know something fell short for me.

 

Follow me on:
Instagram / Goodreads / Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Reflection: The Stranger in the Mirror by Rachel R. Smith book review

  1. Ouch. Sorry this one was such a letdown. Fantasy isn’t typically my genre of choice, either, and when I do read fantasy I go for what I call “fantasy lite.” When the world gets too complicated, when it’s waaay too different from this world, when there’s magic that is convoluted and impossible to understand… yeah, I’m out. Too bad this one didn’t live up to the pretty cover.

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    Like

  2. This one sounded really interesting, so I’m sorry it didn’t live up to expectations. I think I’ll give it a miss – thanks for the heads up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

