Bookish talk · Monthly Wrap Up

July 2017 Wrap Up

I hope everyone had a fantastic July!

I read double the amount of books from last month. 4 read in June and 8 read in this month. Woo!

 

First, in my actual life… 

1. We live in the South (US), like I’ve mentioned before. Almost all of our days in July have been in the high 90’s, with humidity that makes it feel like 103 degrees (according to the handy little widget on my phone). It’s been killer. And our air conditioner broke. We spent about four days like…

July 2017 Wrap Up @ Chocolate and Chapters

And also we own no fans. Because I was unprepared.

2. July 4th was Independence Day for us here in the US of A! I’ve been reading a lot of books with American soldier-main characters so my patriotism is obnoxiously sky-high right now.

As promised in my last wrap up post, here are the American flag leggings I wore to celebrate Independence Day!

flag leg

2. We have a two year old little girl, who for the purpose of this blog I will call “Miss Stinky.” (Because she is often stinky.) Miss Stinky loves sleeping in her crib, where she is surrounded by soft blankets and her favorite stuffed animals. She hasn’t climbed out of her crib at all and I’ve been happy to keep her contained in said crib.

Yesterday this happened: Before I put her down for a nap, I cleaned up her room. I put all her toys and books away and straightened up. About two hours later, I heard her awake so I went into her room to find her sweetly laying in her crib, snuggling her stuffed animals… with her room a disaster. Toys everywhere and somehow, she found a crayon and had written all over the walls.

So she had climbed out of her crib, ransacked the room, and then climbed back in for a little snooze.

Heaven help me.

3. There’s a soul food restaurant in our city that people rave about so we finally went for the first time last weekend. My husband and I are generally adventurous with food, so we decided to try the chittlins. (Or “chitterlings.”)

Chittlins are heavily spiced pieces of the small intestine of a pig.

I can now say from personal experience, if you have a chance to try chittlins, FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT’S HOLY, DON’T DO IT. Oh my goodness. I can tell you confidently that it was the most disgusting thing I have ever attempted to eat.

It tasted like eating something that previously held feces in it. Oh wait. That’s exactly what it was. And then the taste wouldn’t leave my mouth for the rest of the meal. So my banana pudding tasted like pig intestine.

gag

 

Books read in July

July 2017 Wrap Up @ Chocolate and Chapters

My Book of the Month!: Fallen Angels by Walter Dean Myers (click for review)

On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves (click for review)

How Toddlers Thrive by Tovah P. Klein (click for review)

Reflection: The Stranger in the Mirror by Rachel R. Smith (click for review)

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman (click for review)

A Strange Companion by Lisa Manterfield (click for review)

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (I loved this book, but didn’t think my review would add to the trillions that are already out there–because it’s a classic. It was great, though!)

All the Gallant Men: An American Sailor’s Firsthand Account of Pearl Harbor by Donald Stratton, Ken Gire (This was really good, but I’m not planning on writing a review for it. Still super good.) 

 

Other reviews posted

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The Japanese Lover by Isabel Allende

 

Notable posts from this month

5 ways I WON’T be reducing my TBR pile

7 ways I WILL attempt to reduce my mountain-sized TBR

Homemade Moon Pies: The perfect companion for your summer reading

Surprise, surprise: My TBR is shamefully long…

The importance of a beautiful title

A box full of Cinderella! LitCube box review – June 2017

 

How my Instagram is looking right now

(As of last night, anyway.)

July 2017 Wrap Up @ Chocolate and Chapters

 

My July Haul

1501257487563

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (Only $6 at Sam’s Club. How could I say No? Also, Cait from Paper Fury suggested it when I said I really wanted to read a book version of the Gotham Siege. You know, from Batman.)

Remember When by Lindsay Detweiler (copy from author for review)

The Saturday Evening Girls Club by Jane Healey (received in the July 2017 Once Upon a Book Club box)

A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee (received in the July 2017 Spearcraft box–stay tuned for my review of the box!)

The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell (received in the July 2017 LitJoy box–stay tuned for my review of the box!)

Being squished by my cat in the above photo: Taming the Tiger Mom: A Balanced Approach to Maximizing a Child’s Potential by Chungsoon C. Kim (won in a Goodreads Giveaway) 

Not pictured:

The Last to See Me by M. Dressler (e-arc from publisher)

Look What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt (e-arc from publisher)

A Stranger in the House by Shari Lapena (e-arc from publisher)

 

My July TBR

August is going to be the month of tackling my e-ARCs and review requests. They’re stressing me out, sitting there on my shelf and smirking at me while they wait for their turn. I got a review request from an author and was approved for 3 E-ARC’s in about 2 days time. So yeah, freaking out a little bit.

9a0979ac47821dabf80830d6190af441

Yes, I know 4 books to read for review is small potatoes for some bloggers, but you know.

So… this is what I’m planning on reading in August. And yes, I found every tablet in the house so that I could (kind of?) show the covers of the e-ARCs.

1501256998956

The Last to See Me by M. Dressler (e-arc from publisher)

Look What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt (e-arc from publisher)

A Stranger in the House by Shari Lapena (e-arc from publisher)

Potty Training in 3 Days: The Step-by-Step Plan for a Clean Break from Dirty Diapers by Brandi Brucks (Because we’re potty training our toddler in August so that she’s out of diapers before she starts preschool in September. Please send help and copious amounts of chocolate because I am freaking out about this, too.) 

Lady of Sherwood by Molly Bilinski (I was supposed to read this last month but… #failed. I’m going to read it this month or so help me.)

Remember When by Lindsay Detwiler (I’ll be giving away a copy of this book on Instagram later in the month! Stay tuned for that giveaway!)

 

ALSO, I’m doing my first ever giveaway here on the blog for a new-release book. Look out for the post tomorrow!

 

Have a happy August, everyone! I’m ready for pumpkin spice season!

 

Linking up to Kathryn at Book Date’s Month in Review: July meme and Feed Your Fiction Addiction’s July Wrap-Up Round Up.

 

Follow me on:
Instagram / Goodreads / Bloglovin

12 thoughts on “July 2017 Wrap Up

  1. The air conditioner situation was me last year. The air conditioner at our house wasn’t blowing cold air but hot air into the house. Instead of it lasting a few days, we had it going on for about a week and a half. And I live in the South too. It was terribly hot. The fans in my room didn’t help at all.

    Like

  2. Eight books is awesome! I think I might read more this month (in August) than I anticipated. I feel for you going that many days without AC. The humidity is what really is killer. I didn’t seem to notice it at all as a kid, but we sure do now that we’re older! Miss Stinky sounds hilarious. She’s figured out how to work it! Oh, I cracked up at her lying so sweetly in her crib…and your food adventure. I am not very adventurous and I’m OK with that. Oh my gosh, that owl is exactly how I feel about NetGalley! I try to pretend it’s no big deal, but it’ll take me years to get my ratio up to even my age!

    Like

  3. I don’t know what I would have done without a working ac this year. I can’t even imagine it with a 2 year old in the house. Kids are fun. My oldest was like a graffiti artist at that age and would smear creams on the wall draw everywhere. I would think I had everything put away but she could always find something. Enjoy all of your new books and have a great August!

    Like

Leave a Reply

