Bookish talk · Discussion · Personal thoughts

5 of My Favorite Books Since I Started Blogging

I have read so many good books lately. Of course, I’ve read some ehh or pure awful books, too. But the good ones have been really good. Here are some of them, for your TBR-adding pleasure!

 

5 of My Favorite Books Since I Started Blogging

 

1. The Last to See Me by M. Dressler

My Top 5 Favorite Books Since I Started Blogging @ Chocolate and Chapters

Ahh, this book was so good. It’s a story of a haunted house, but from the viewpoint of the ghost herself. So different and so interesting. And perfect for Halloween. Read it, I’m telling you!

Read my full review here.

 

2. Fallen Angels by Walter Dean Myers

1498754048085

Richard Perry joins the Army during the chaos of the Vietnam war after his plans for college fall through. He leaves behind his gentle younger brother and alcoholic single mother in Harlem, NY. Upon arriving in Vietnam, Richie’s not sure what to expect. Soon, he sees the war up close for himself. The blood, brutality, panic, and terror. He forms deep friendships with the men he fights beside and has good reason to wonder if he’ll ever make it back to Harlem alive.

I’ve never recommended a book as much as I have recommended this one. I cried reading this multiple times. It’s incredibly powerful.

Read my full review here.

 

3. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

1497717016584

The new school year is starting. We follow the stories of three kindergarten mothers, each far more complicated than first impressions might give.

Ahh, this book! It’s been really hyped so I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it was so much deeper than I thought it would be. So good.

Read my full review here.

 

4. If the Creek Don’t Rise by Leah Weiss

1503760318131

Sadie Blue is pregnant and newly married to an mean, abusive moonshiner. Life is undoubtedly hard. Not only for her, but for all the people who live in the North Carolina mountain town of Baines Creek. Everyone in the town, from Sadie’s grandmother to the new schoolteacher, have secrets to keep and a past that won’t stop following them.

I love me some Southern fiction and this fit the bill perfectly. If you want a taste of the timelessness of the Appalachians, I recommend this book. I really enjoyed it.

Read my full review here.

 

 

5. The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

My Top 5 Favorite Books Since I Started Blogging @ Chocolate and Chapters

Vasya lives with her family in wild, frosty northern Russia. She is a fierce, precocious girl who loves hearing the stories her elderly nurse tells about the spirits who protect their home and lands. She has a connection to these spirits like no one else. That is, until her father gets remarried to Anna, a woman whose entire life is driven by fear. As Anna discourages her new family and town to spurn these primitive spirits, she does not realize the danger she is bringing to their doors: a danger that only Vasya can save them from.

Russia, magic, snow, a strong female main character. So good. I’m planning on recommending this book to my book club because I have so many thoughts. It’s definitely worthy of a reread.

Read my full review here.

 


 

So there you go! Go forth and fill your TBRs! These are all worth reading ASAP. 🙂

 

Tell me, though: Have you read any of these books? Have you been meaning to?

 

Enter to win a September 2017 New Release book right here!

Follow me on:
Instagram / Goodreads / Bloglovin

 

Linked to Top Ten Tuesday on The Broke and the Bookish.

8 thoughts on “5 of My Favorite Books Since I Started Blogging

  1. Moriarty is one of my favorites! I love the way she weaves her characters’ lives together and delivers that big moment that leaves me speechless. Can’t wait for her to release a new book.

    Like

  2. I so wanted to do this week’s TTT but… no internet connection at home due to Hurricane Irma. Boo hiss.
    I really, really wanted to love The Bear and the Nightingale. It seemed to have all these elements that should have equaled book perfection for me. But I just could not get into and it became one of my very rare DNF’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m actually in a book slump right now. I just don’t know what to read (though I still have a ton of books i haven’t read, hahaha) so I’ll try and check out some of these. Thanks for recommending 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

